ETSI – European Telecommunications Standards Institute

ETSI is a non-profit organization whose mission is to produce the telecommunications standards that are used throughout Europe. Based in Sophia Antipolis, a high-tech research park in southern France, ETSI unites 789 members from 52 countries inside and outside Europe, and represents administrations, network operators, manufacturers, service providers, research bodies and users.

Learn more about ETSI at

FCC – Federal Communications Commission

The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 as an independent United States government agency directly responsible to Congress. The Act, which has been amended over the years, charges the Commission with establishing policies to govern interstate and international communications by television, radio, wire, satellite and cable.  In other words, the FCC regulates all forms of electronic communications both within and going out of the United States.  The FCC works with the International Telecommunications Union (ITU), the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) and other organizations to establish international regulation.

Learn more about the FCC at

IEEE – Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

The IEEE is a non-profit, technical professional association of more than 350,000 individual members in 150 countries. Through its members, the IEEE is a leading authority in technical areas ranging from computer engineering, biomedical technology and telecommunications, to electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics, among others. Through its technical publishing, conferences and consensus-based standards activities, the IEEE

Produces 30% of the world's published literature in electrical engineering, computers and control technology,

Holds annually more than 300 major conferences

Has more than 800 active standards with 700 under development

Learn more about the IEEE at

ITU – International Telecommunications Union

The ITU, headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, is an international organization within which governments and the private sector coordinate global telecom networks and services.  The ITU is divided into three main sectors:

ITU-R Sector is responsible for all work in the field of Radio communications.

ITU-T Sector ensures an efficient and on-time production of high quality standards covering all fields of Telecommunications except radio aspects.

ITU-D Sector facilitates and enhances telecommunication Development worldwide by offering, organizing and coordinating technical cooperation and assistance activities.

Learn more about the ITU at

MMAC-PC – Multimedia Mobile Access Communications Systems Promotion Council

The Multimedia Mobile Access Communication Systems Promotion Council (MMAC-PC) was formed in Japan in 1996 in cooperation with users, carriers, manufacturers as well as academia. The objective of the Council is to propose a high performance wireless system to allow any person to communicate "at anytime and any place". The Promotion Council’s goal is to realize MMAC as soon as possible through investigations of system specifications, demonstrative experiments, information exchanges and popularization activities that contribute to the efficient use of the radio frequency spectrum. MMAC involves indoor and outdoor broadband high data rate communications tied together via both wireless and fiber optic systems.

Learn more about the MMAC-PC at

WECA – Wireless Ethernet Compatibility Alliance

The Wireless Ethernet Compatibility Alliance (WECA) is an on profit organization formed in 1999 to certify interoperability of Wi-Fi (IEEE 802.11b) products and to promote Wi-Fi as the global, wireless LAN standard across all market segments. WECA has instituted a test suite that defines how member products are tested to certify that they are interoperable with other Wi-Fi-certified products.  When a product successfully passes the test, the company is granted the Wi-Fi seal of interoperability and may display the Wi-Fi logo on that product and its corresponding collateral material.  This testing assures that products bearing the Wi-Fi logo will work with each other.  Membership in WECA is open to all companies who support the Wi-Fi standard, including any member manufacturer that would like to submit its Wi-Fi-based product for interoperability testing. WECA now comprises 82 members.

Learn more about WECA at

WLANA – Wireless Local Area Networking Association

The Wireless LAN Association is a non-profit educational trade association, comprised of the thought leaders and technology innovators in the local area wireless technology industry. Through the vast knowledge and experience of sponsor and affiliate members, WLAN A provides a clearinghouse of information about wireless local area applications, issues and trends and serves as a resource to customers and prospects of wireless local area products and wireless personal area products and to industry press and analysts.

Learn more about WLANA at